Look Up, Get Up and Don’t Ever Give Up

image

This is a part of a speech that I came across recently. It is a speech by NFL Hall of Fame member Michael Irvin, this speech was made during his induction into the hall of fame:

“I doubted I would ever have the chance to stand before you today. So when I returned home, I spoke with Michael and Elijah . I said, That’s how you do it, son. You do it like they did it. Michael asked, he said, Dad, do you ever think we will be there? And I didn’t know how to answer that. And it returned me to that threshing floor. This time I was voiceless, but my heart cried out. God, why must I go through so many peaks and valleys?

I wanted to stand in front of my boys and say, Do it like your dad, like any proud dad would want to. Why must I go through so much?

At that moment a voice came over me and said, Look up, get up, and don’t ever give up. You tell everyone or anyone that has ever doubted, thought they did not measure up or wanted to quit, you tell them to look up, get up and don’t ever give up.

Thank you and may God bless you.”

The reason I chose this speech was because of its message: look up, get up and don’t ever give up. This message reinforced three things in my mind and spirit:

1. Look Up

In my 23 years of life I have not always been sure about the existence of a higher power or a devine being but as time went by it became glaringly obvious to me that my life was not a journey that I walked alone, spiritually I was blessed with a guardian that always walked by my side and protected me from harm that came in all forms.

When Michael Irvin said “look up”, I immediately associated that with prayer and asking for assistance or help from the Almighty God.

When times get tough don’t just look down and weep, look up and seek strength.

2. Get Up

As much as God is there to help us through our toughest times and rejoice with us in our happiest, He will not force you to do anything. In my eyes prayer is a plea and a request for opportunity, so when we ask for wealth we do not get money on our laps but we get opportunities to work hard and build that wealth.

So, get up and know that as God is protecting you, Jesus guiding you and the Holy Spirit inspiring you, you have all it takes to get it done within you. So get up and get it done!!

3. Don’t ever give up

Through all of our trials and tribulations there is one thing that we all have in common and that is the fact that we were not born with a spirit of fear, so when times get tough and the situation appears to be rough have no fear and push forward because success lies after the pain! God has equipped you with all that you will ever need to be everything you want to be in life, “talent is God’s gift to you but how you use it is your gift to Him”.

Success will be yours!! You just have to dig deeper and show that it is what you want more than anything.

Never forget that God is the key to everything!

Peace & Love

Leave a Reply

